45 45s #22 The Field Mice – I can see myself alone forever (The Caff Corporation, 1989)

Field MiceYou could, you know – see singer and songwriter Bobby Wratten alone forever.  I remember him standing apart from everyone at a service station off the motorway coming back from a gig in Stoke, and he looked so thoroughly alone that I wanted to take a photograph of that two in the morning moment.  Well, in a way I did capture him in that state, because it’s always stuck in my mind, and I am presenting it to you now.  It looked like the sharper, harder, bristling kind of loneliness of someone parted from one they love against their wishes, rather than the make-do, self-sufficient, aloneness of someone habituated to being in their own company, though there may have been something of that in it too.  Contrary to the theme of this song, Bobby was already busy detailing the starts and ends (but not so much the middles) of relationships, as he did across all the recordings made by the Field Mice, and beyond them.  Self-evidently he was a loner looking – or pining – for love.

The Field Mice grew rapidly from a duo to a quintet.  At the time of ‘I can see myself alone forever’, they were still a duo.  Michael Hiscock is one of my all-time favourite bass players, habitually adding a layer of bubbling undertow melody to Bobby’s already highly melodic songs.  They may have been the crown jewel in Sarah Records’ roster, but using a drum machine helped make it plainer that their lineage was rooted in the sounds of Factory Records as much as Sarah’s antecedents.  The pair were south Londoners, though they seem to have grown up in almost the same kind of isolation that Welsh or Scottish groups used to, or that the original Flying Nun groups did in New Zealand.  Bobby wrote from the heart, developing a trick of reversing grammatical parts of sentences to great effect, thereby giving his simple, thoughtful lines a complexity suggestive of the tangled knot of feeling.

I’m also picking this for its label, Caff, being Bob Stanley’s first go at the music business proper after co-producing a fanzine of the same name.  ‘I can see myself alone forever’ and its B side ‘Everything about you’ were offcuts rightly rescued from the Snowball recording sessions.  It may not be quite on a par with ‘Sensitive’, but somehow ‘I can see myself alone forever’ resonated more with me at the time.  And Caff went on to release a string of notable limited edition seven inches, one or two more of which are likely to turn up further down the line in this series.

2 responses

  1. I am woefully behind on listening here. But I like this song a lot. I was unaware of The Field Mice until now. This song has that elusive catchy yet melancholic sound that I love. The guitar reminds me a bit of some early Cure songs. I will have to look more into these mice.

    1. Glad you like it. The other entries in this series are not going anywhere, so catch up as and when you can! The Mice were remarkably consistent across their recordings, so take your pick really, but my favourites of theirs are the ‘Skywriting’ mini-LP, and the ‘So said Kay’ EP, which I think these days come as part of the same downloadable set.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

