Modern Studies

ppp01_495w_8q_print

The third stage of my journey from fun-loving pop fanatic and tractor boy to misery pop fanatic and psychogeographic depressive, Pot Plant Pantry appeared in late 1987 and saw me retreating from the throwaway stuff.  Stung by a rebuke meted out to me in response to Too Much Hanky Pantry that I should ‘fuck off back to [my] brat-pop’, I got serious.  As I’ve often said, these were days when arguments with your closest allies were likely to be far more ferocious than those with your most reviled opponents.  In this respect it helped that I was embarked on the second year of a degree that paired philosophy and sociology under the laughably erroneous moniker of ‘Modern Studies’; being voluntarily and increasingly under the influence of those now well-known French jokers Debord and Vaneigem hardly held me back in the furrowed brow stakes.  I never did develop Raoul Vaneigem’s capacity to consider the revolution of every day life as quite the unbridled joy he would have you believe it to be.

Not that you can work out any of this from the cover, which featured a wonderfully pretty line drawing by my friend Robert Aspland, multiplied Warholistically and ever so slightly wonkily by me.  Showing his versatility, Robert (now busy landscape-designing the Olympic park ready for 2012) also produced a caricature of Graeme Souness for the cover of the fourth issue of When Saturday Comes.

On receipt of Pot Plant Pantry, Malcolm Eden of McCarthy sent me a ‘keep your pecker up!’ postcard, saying ‘you seem to have become almost as solemn as I am…’

So that’s something for readers to look forward to as I post pages from Pot Plant over the coming days and weeks.

wsc4cover_495w8q

3 responses

  1. There’s a great line on the new Nightingales record which is about St Johnstone being the only (UK) football team with a J in its name. May have misheard it …

  2. That was a bit of odd connection-ology as I was trying to remember if there was a link between When Saturday Comes and fanzines like Snipe that always seemed to have 20 pages on bands that desperately wanted to be the Nightingales.

  3. The connection was Mike Ticher, who edited both WSC and Snipe. But in fairness he also wrote about and interviewed the Verlaines, who – far from wanting to be the Nightingales, or sounding like them – had probably never even heard of Robert Lloyd’s lot.

Leave a Reply

